top of page

The much-awaited results of the 2023 BrookWright International Brass Ensemble Composer Competition (IBECC) can now be revealed!

For the first time since the competition began in 2020, the Overall Winner, as decided by our esteemed judges Dr Liz Lane and Kevin Norbury, has also won the Public Commendation Prize, which was voted for by viewers on YouTube. We are pleased to announce the winner of both prizes is American composer MICAH ROBERTS with his piece for trombone choir entitled MOUNT AUBURN. The work is a musical depiction of the bustling section of Cincinnati of the same name.

Micah wins a total of $1,000 US cash, a license to the programme NotePerformer 4 and publication of his work through BrookWright Music.

The competition received some 46 entries from composers in 16 different countries. Rolling score videos for each of the five finalists can be viewed at:

Piece A: Florence Anne Maunders - Transmission -

Piece B: Harold Burgmayer - Sola Fide -

Piece C: Joseph Ricard - Chesapeake Crab Soup -

Piece D: Micah Roberts - Mount Auburn -

Piece E: Nelson Jesus - Two Fast Pieces -

We would like to congratulate Micah and all our finalists, as well as everyone who took part in this year's contest! We would also like to sincerely thank our judges Dr Liz Lane and Kevin Norbury, and all our sponsors for making the competition possible:

Besson -

Blackwood Music -

Data Paradigm Inc. -

Christopher Bond Music -

John Lawes - Flexible Brass Quartets -

Noteperformer -

World of Brass -

WobPlay -

IBECC Banner 2023.jpg
bottom of page